A detailed Guide to Six Sigma and its Components

In today’s era, news spread faster than wildfire. When an event happens and even if it is not completed, it becomes the topic of common interest among the masses. Regarding the quality of the products, companies must safeguard the interest as consumer has become more aware and he doesn’t hesitate to spread the news on social media and other channels. A single incident of compromise with quality can demolish the years of brand value and most importantly, the customer’s trust. While there are many quality systems across the world today, Six Sigma has gained the enormous momentum and acceptance through the industry.

What is Six Sigma?

Six Sigma is a system of statistical tools and techniques that focuses on eliminating defects and reducing process variations. The six sigma process includes measurement, improvement, and validation of activities. Six Sigma relates to the number of defects per million opportunities with the standard deviations found in the process specifications. Therefore, Six Sigma refers to the plus or minus three Sigma from the mean of the data under the curve. The individuals are highly skilled and they are trained under statistical tools like the CTQ tree under the Six Sigma methodologies. The important elements like CTQ trees are developed and explained in the training which is an essential part of the Six Sigma Training. The certification and training are borrowed from the martial arts and belts are also derived from it which includes Yellow, Green, Black, and Master Black Belt designations. 

Master Black Belt

A master black belt trained professional is classically trained in statistical tools, methodology, and management processes. A master black belt professional is a direct mentor to the group of black belts and six sigma teams through which problems need to be reviewed. The master black belts are responsible for the strategy and training of the black belt level practitioners.

Black Belt

The black belt is considered as the highest level of training in the six sigma tools and training. As per the rule, black belts contribute to developing the plans for the six sigma project implementation. A black belt is responsible for creating the project plan and leading the cross-functional projects while directing the team members. Black belts usually train other team members with the proper use of Six Sigma tools and techniques.

Green Belt

Green belts generally report to the black belt and it leads the process improvement from time to time. On an average 25-50% of Green belt professional’s time is spent working on the six sigma projects within their functional area. Green belts receive training on DMAIC methodology, statistical tools and data collection with analysis on the collected data.

Yellow Belt

A Yellow Belt has a basic understanding of Six Sigma and its methodologies, statistical tools, and DMAIC methodology. Yellow belts are members of the workforce and they are knowledgeable and experience in the process of question. A Yellow belt professional is a subject matter expert for the process.


Six Sigma is more than a quality system, it is a set of tools and certification systems or methods for process improvement. Some professionals perceive it as a philosophy that includes all the business processes and measured matric can be improved.